The History of

The Lanesborough London

A Regency residence of quintessential British character located in the very heart of London.

1719

James Lane, the second and last Viscount Lanesborough, builds Lanesborough House as his personal residence.

1825

Architect William Wilkins, of National Gallery fame, is commissioned to restore Lanesborough House which has fallen into disrepair. He settles on the classic Greek revival style that is characteristic of the Regency period.

1844

The building is converted into St George’s Hospital.

1980

St George’s Hospital is moved to Tooting, South London.

1988

Fitzroy Robinson Partnership is appointed to prepare plans to turn the building into a luxury hotel, preserving the original façade but completely renovating the interior. Plans are secured.

1991

On 30 December, The Lanesborough is opened by Rosewood Hotels.

2013

The hotel is closed for large-scale renovations.

2014

Oetker Collection takes over management of The Lanesborough in November.

2015

The Lanesborough reopens with renovated rooms, and common areas.

2016

Céleste restaurant is awarded with 1 Michelin Star.

2017

Opening of The Lanesborough Club & Spa.

Discover our hotels' history