The History of

Chateau Saint Martin

Stretching across the hilltops of Provence, a peaceful refuge on a site stepped in history.

350

Home to Saint Martin, Bishop of Tours, and strategically placed Roman fortification that kept his name. Bequeathed to the Crusaders on their return from Jerusalem by the Comte de Provence.

1150

The Domaine Saint-Martin becomes a stronghold for the Knights Templar. 

1900

A Polish Count purchases the domain in ruins and begins rebuilding on the foundation of the former Templar Commander’s residence. Traces of the original ruins still populate the site and are listed as monuments in the French historical register.

1935

Fernand Genève, a Parisian businessman, purchases the domain and begins extensive rebuilding.

1954

Genève opens the first hotel on the property.

1960

Six private villas are built to complement the hotel accommodations.

1994

The Oetker family purchase Château Saint-Martin & Spa.

2019

Château Saint-Martin & Spa receives the prestigious Palace Distinction

 

Discover our hotels' history